Tuesday, April 12, 2011

John Frusciante - Shadows Collide (Acoustic)

In 2004 John Frusciante, whom I'd been following since his obscure 1994 solo debut Niandra Lades & Usually Just A T-Shirt, began a very prolific year with the release of his, first major label, properly produced, album Shadows Collide With People. Later that year he would release six more solo albums, as well as a soundtrack recording (The Brown Bunny). Every month or so, he found the time to perform in small venues almost every time with a new collection of songs, which, most of them, remain unreleased until this day.  Exciting times I might add... 

Also, merely weeks after the release of Shadows, he recorded acoustic versions of every song on Shadows (apart from the "soundscape" tracks and the Japanese bonus track 'Of Before') and made them available through his website. The same story goes for demo recordings of nine tracks from the album. Those demo's will be posted on this blog in the future, but now I present to you, for those of you who don't have them, and can't find them anywhere else, the acoustic versions: John and Josh Klinghoffer, his partner in art at the time, now the new guitar player for the Chili Peppers, on some tracks. Only acoustic guitar and vocals and, judging from the recording, recorded in his living room. Enjoy!

1. Carvel
2. Omission
3. Regret
4. Ricky
5. Second Walk
6. Every Person
7. Wednesday's Song
8. This Cold
9. Time Goes Back
10. In Relief
11. Water
12. Cut-Out
13. Chances
14. The Slaughter


Anonymous Anonymous said...

Excelent post !
Frusciante is awesome !

June 28, 2013 at 5:59 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home